Blog Home

Are You Facing Christmas Shoplifting Charges in TX?

When facing shoplifting charges, it can be easy to brush it off and think that the charges against you are anything but serious. After all, how bad can the penalties for swiping something from a store be?

In Texas, theft charges of any type can be severe. Even a charge of misdemeanor theft can significantly impact your life since it’s considered a crime of moral turpitude. A conviction can put your personal and professional life in peril.

Every Texan must understand why shoplifting charges are so severe so they can understand why it’s always in their best interest to have an experienced attorney to represent them in these matters.

Shoplifting in Texas

In Texas, shoplifting is considered theft when someone unlawfully takes property belonging to another person to permanently deprive the rightful owner of that property. Theft is considered a misdemeanor when the value of the property in question is $2,500 or less, but if the item gets valued at more than that, you face felony theft charges.

Theft in Texas gets classified into several distinct classes.

Class C Misdemeanor Theft

Property valued at $100 or less is considered Class C theft. It is penalized by the order to pay a fine that does not exceed $500. You will not be required to serve jail time, but it goes on your criminal record for life.

Class B Misdemeanor Theft

For property worth between $100 and $750, it is valued at less than $100 but is the second or subsequent offense for the accused, or if the theft was of a driver’s license or some other identification card, then it is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas.

If convicted of Class B misdemeanor theft in Texas, you face fines of as much as $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail.

Houston Shoplifting Lawyer

Class A Misdemeanor Theft

For the theft of property valued between $750 and $2,500, you risk a Class A misdemeanor – the most severe misdemeanor in the state. If found guilty, you can face up to 12 months in jail and be responsible for paying fines of as much as $4,000.


State Jail Felony

If you are found guilty of shoplifting items valued between $2,500 and $30,000, you face penalties for a state jail felony. A conviction can result in as many as two years in state jail and fines of as much as $10,000.

Third-Degree Felony Theft

An item between $30,000 and $150,000 will be a third-degree felony. The penalties for this crime can include ten years behind bars and fines of $10,000.

Second-Degree Felony Theft

If you get convicted of stealing items valued between $150,000 and $300,000, you face up to 20 years of imprisonment and fines of $10,000.

First-Degree Felony Theft

Any item valued at $300,000 or more will result in a first-degree theft charge. The penalties include up to 99 years in prison and fines of $10,000.

It’s vital to note that there are some exceptions to the value of stolen items. If the item is livestock or a firearm, then the misdemeanor is automatically upgraded to a state jail felony. Additionally, anyone found guilty of theft in the state can get ordered to pay damages and restitution to the victim, as well as civil penalties.

Blog Home